The Icing on the Cake

Special Note: Much as I dislike Christian-ese, I’m going to use a word straight out of the Church and Religious People’s Vocabulary Handbook: “Anointing.” Just so no one gets lost, I’ll define it: To be anointed means to have been chosen by God to do a specific thing especially for him.

I was thinking today about the difference between talent and anointing. I was thinking about this because I would consider myself a talented singer. But I have this wonderful, beautiful, amazingly talented friend who is very obviously anointed to lead worship through music. So I wondered today (and not for the first time) if I’m an anointed singer. After I mentally compared myself to my friend, I decided that I’m not.

But today for some reason, it didn’t end there. I felt like God stopped me and asked, “Who said you can’t be anointed?” He impressed on me that he wouldn’t give someone talent in an area if he wasn’t also prepared to anoint in that area. It was simply a matter of wanting it, and that would come by wanting him.

So, what kind of music do I listen to? What are my thoughts toward God? What am I doing to demonstrate to him that I want the honor and responsibility of being anointed? I felt like God said to me, “If you want it, come get it.” And then he reminded me that he’d said the same thing to me years ago. Instead of working toward it then, I spent years gradually letting fear lead to apathy. “I’m not confident enough. I’m not smart enough. I’m not talented enough. I’m not compentent enough. God doesn’t even like me. Who wants it anyway? Who cares.” I eventually buried what he said beneath fear and presumed rejection.

Over the years I’ve often compared myself to my friend, and I always fell quite short. That’s stupid of me, of course. I’m not her. Despite my worst thoughts of myself, me being me doesn’t equal automatic disqualification. I think probably the number one requirement of anointing is that you’re you, not wishing you were someone else…

What is the difference between talent and anointing? That’s like asking what’s the difference between cake and icing: They’re not meant to be the same, they’re meant to go together (and quite deliciously). If God baked it, and you offer it back to him, he’ll totally frost it. And then it will be delicious for everyone, and God will get all the glory for making such an awesome cake.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “The Icing on the Cake

  1. Love this! I love the picture of God putting the frosting on the cake. And it’s a great picture of you and your “friend.” No comparison is necessary…or even possible…you’re both WONDERFUL just the way you are!

  2. Bethany says:

    Can I just tell you my entire story here in the comment box, which you should take to mean: EXACTLY. Amen. If I had a church hat on and a fan, I’d be nodding, too. That was a great (and delicious) analogy, too.

  3. michelle says:

    this is amazingggg i have to share it with my friends! diggin the cake reference too 😀 or “its like nutella and pretzels…”

  4. Tracie says:

    @Tammy, you’re so sweet! But … how did you know who the friend is?! Haha, that was a completely silly question!

    @Bethany, you made me laugh out loud! I WANT to read your story, you should’ve shared it!

    @Michelle, thanks! Nutella and pretzels … mmm!

    I love that you guys all liked the cake analogy too! Just when I thought I talk about cake way too much…

Leave a Reply

