Manimals?

Just wanted to chat a little about how I’ve been confronting my anger fear distrust toward men. It’s been a struggle, admittedly. I hope my perspective is getting more healthy.

Is it just me, or is it difficult for women to read certain parts of the Bible (a book that undoubtedly informs my life) without feelings ranging from annoyance to outrage? I’ve often asked God why He gave us brains at all! He’s always quite patient with me when He explains that things got royally jacked up in the Garden. But I digress.

A couple years ago I read For Women Only, and it really shook me in a way I doubt the author intended. Yes, it helped me re-examine what I thought I understood about my husband’s wants and needs. But it also more solidly entrenched my fears concerns. I’d stopped saying “men are dogs” when I got saved because I knew it was wrong-thinking. I’d stopped saying it, but I hadn’t really stopped believing it. And this book confirmed my worst fears: Men were like animals–either panting after every pretty girl, or fighting their very nature to keep their eyes and minds off them. The thought of being mentally consumed by a man felt degrading; the thought that our boyfriends or husbands might mentally consume random women felt like the worst kind of betrayal.

Someone pointed out to me that there are men who fight. They wrestle daily because they love a woman. I guess I admire that. I don’t think I’m that persistent. Plus former dogs can become men by the Spirit of God. I’m watching it happen.

I admit I’m not entirely reformed though.

Women, do you struggle with these things? Men, what do you think of all this?

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “Manimals?

  1. michelle says:

    no wonder i like you so much. we have the same brains. 🙂

  2. treyka says:

    That explains it! LOL!

  3. JennBBunny says:

    I prefer to try to ignore those tendencies I know are inherent to men. It makes going through life with a smile on my face much easier. If I think about it too much… it really creeps me out.

  4. Dawn M says:

    Well, that part of the book messed me up so much that I haven’t even finished it yet!

  5. Nikki says:

    I’m with JennBBunny, I also try not to think about those tendencies. Although, instead of creeping me out, it tends to make me feel superior. I find myself looking down on such base thoughts and behavior, which does nothing good for a man’s self esteem, which ultimately causes home life to suffer. So it’s best for everyone to just roll with it. Proverbs 14:1 explains this phenomenon best: A wise woman builds her house, but a foolish one tears hers down with her own hands.

  6. treyka says:

    Hm. I guess I hadn’t thought of it as looking down on men. I felt scared and disgusted … I guess that could be thought of as looking down. Didn’t mean for it to be that, but once the truth was out there, initially I couldn’t put it away.

    I think I’m more … I don’t know, settled with it now. And I think the most important thing I [God]realized is that despite these things, a man can truly, deeply love. My husband loves me. I mean, I know that doesn’t sound like some great revelation, and for some it may sound rather demeaning. (That’s not my intent.) But it was revelatory to me, and therefore vastly helpful. Before, it was hard to reconcile that those two things could exist side-by-side in a man.

Leave a Reply

