He Picked Me | January 12, 2010

Today is my husband’s birthday.

This morning as we held each other, I thought of him when I first met him: A gangly 16-year-old with a gumby haircut! We were in 12th grade chemistry together. He had a crush on my friend; I had a baby-daddy, so I didn’t think twice about him. When and how did that change?Β I never dreamed he would be my husband the first time I saw him. (That skinny kid was destined to be my husband … so strange!) Yet he began calling me his wife two months after we met, at least four years before we started dating.

I don’t know why he chose to love me. I mean, isn’t that weird? To choose someone and love them? Why me? What a devoted man–mine for more than half his life, mine before I was even his.

This morning when I thought of him, I thought of our life together. So many valleys, so many fights and struggles and tears. How far we’ve come! How far God has brought us! So much has changed, and so much is the same. That gangly 16-year-old is 37 today, not so gangly anymore.Β He’s still funny and goofy. No man has ever made me laugh the way he does–that has never changed. And he’s so good-looking! I love it when women look at him with admiration. Go ‘head, look! It feels so good to be secure in his love. I couldn’t always say that.

He’s a grown man, my husband, the father of my children–all of them, even those who do not physically share his DNA. So strange to see him grown up now, fathering. He constantly tells me how much he loves me, how beautiful I am, how talented I am. He makes me feel special, and I’m not sure I deserve that.

He’s mine. He picked me. Wow.

Happy birthday my love.

Tagged , , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “He Picked Me | January 12, 2010

  1. uninvoked says:

    I feel the same way when I’m with my o/h. Yeah ladies…lookie what I got. 😎

  2. treyka says:

    LOL! Definitely a good feeling! I’ll have to check out your blog, I’m going to do something similar this year! Thanks for commenting.

  3. Linzy says:

    Aw, man, that is the sweetest thing, Tracie!! I can’t imagine how it must feel to be able to look back and see how far you’ve come while yet still having so far to go. I think you guys are perfect together and it makes me smile when I see couples who really love–not just love, but LOVE–each other. It’s an inspiration to those of us who haven’t been picked yet. Happy Birthday to Derwin!

  4. treyka says:

    πŸ˜€ Glad we could inspire! For at least the first 10 years of our marriage I would never have believed that could be possible! Thanks Linz!

  5. Nikki says:

    That is so sweet! I’ll say it yet again: your love story is your best-selling novel. πŸ˜‰

  6. treyka says:

    You’re such an encourager! I think there will be “elements” of that story in my novel, but don’t tell anyone!

Leave a Reply

