Hero Complex

I love stories, and I love heroes. So when I head to the movies to look in on someone’s story, I often leave the theater dreaming not just about Superman, or Spider-Man, or Jacob (because everyone knows it should be Jacob), but of what it must be like to be that girl–Lois Lane, or MJ, or Bella.

It’s not about being her. It’s about being the object of his affection.

To the rest of the world he’s strong, capable, smart, handsome, powerful. He protects everyone–but he loves her more than anyone. With her alone he’s also attentive, meek, vulnerable, protective, careful. This powerful being is infatuated with an ordinary woman! Something about her has drawn his faithful attention; she’s worth rescuing again and again; she’s worth his life.

Could I ever be her? Lois Lane! Mary Jane Watson! Bella Swan! Tracie Frank?! [Giggle!]

My soul is hungry for this, absolutely desperate for it. I want to be wildly, passionately rescued! I want to be weak, yet be totally okay with it because I know he can handle it! When I’m afraid, I want his arms to protect me. When there’s absolutely no way out of a situation, I want him to show up, bust some heads, and fly away with me. I may seem ordinary to you, but I’m extraordinary to him. He’d give his life for me; whatever you think of me doesn’ t matter.

No one really talks about Jesus this way. But I know this is true: Jesus is all these things, and I’m his Lois, his MJ, his Bella. I’m his Tracie. I know it’s true! And I want to live this.

I love this quote by C.S. Lewis:

“If I find in myself a desire which no experience in this world can satisfy, the most probable explanation is that I was made for another world.”

It bears remembering and repeating on days like this, when I’m longing for something I’ve not yet experienced here on earth.

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Hero Complex

  1. Linzy says:

    Man, I can so relate to this. I may be little miss independent feminist who can do it all herself (or so I like to think), but I want to be “saved” by a Prince Charming on his a noble steed too!

  2. Tracie says:

    Thank you! I mean, we can still be strong and independent, but that doesn’t mean we don’t long for our hero!

Leave a Reply

