Confessions of a Facebook Addict

Hello. My name is Tracie. I’m addicted to Facebook.

It started innocently enough. A fellow blogger, So Supercilious, mentioned having posted something on her Facebook account.  I couldn’t see it unless I had an account, so I made one. I didn’t fancy it up, I just created a simple account with as little information as possible, and that was that. End of story, right?

Several months later a friend from church “friended” me. This was a new concept to me. I really had no idea what Facebook was about, but I was willing to learn. I went ahead and uploaded a profile picture and filled in some information about myself. Since I only had one friend, it wasn’t too exciting.

But soon more and more people friended me. And I looked at their friends and realized they had lots of friends. And I knew many of their friends. Why shouldn’t their friends be my friends? I began to covet friends.

These same people also updated their statuses. So I updated mine.

And so the addiction began.

One thing I like about Facebook is how clean it looks. I have a Myspace account (it’s an empty shell), but I think Myspace is so ugly and cluttered that I refuse to use it. Most Myspace junkies protest here, informing me (as if I didn’t know) that you can make the page look however you want. They don’t understand: That’s the biggest reason the pages are so dang ugly! Layout should not be left to novices. And the junk you can add to the pages reminds me of the flair that waitstaff add to their vests at certain restaurants. Besides, their internal search engine sucks. I’ve searched for people I know have a Myspace account and come up empty.

Facebook, on the other hand, is so easy to use and understand. More importantly, it has a clean layout. It’s not fancy, but its clean lines and color scheme make it … well, beautiful! Sniff!

But seriously, the coolest thing about Facebook is that over the past two months or so, I’ve been able to get in touch with so many people I haven’t seen in years. Decades! I grew up in the military, and I spent all of my elementary school years in Europe. Who would think I’d ever see any of those kids again? Well, I’ve been finding them on Facebook! I’m so excited to see my old friends from 5th, 6th and 7th grade that I knew across the ocean. I keep looking at their photo albums to get a glimpse into their grown-up lives. I’m amazed to see their faces, so different and so much the same! I look at their profiles to see what they’re doing. It gives me hope for my kids: I remember how goofy, empty-headed and irresponsible my old friends were (me too), and they still grew up to be doctors, writers, artists, accountants, and more! Phew! It’s absolutely amazing–and it’s feeding my addition.

Now I search for every name that ever pops into my head. I’ll be grocery shopping, or at the office, or taking a shower, and I’ll remember a name. I’ll memo it in my phone so I can search Facebook later.

Yeah. I’m an addict people.

Tagged , , , , ,

7 thoughts on “Confessions of a Facebook Addict

  1. Davis says:

    Good to hear of you have success finding old friends. I tried to Facebook a while back, but need to try again. Thanks for the reminder of what’s good about it.

  2. Linzy says:

    Welcome to the club. I swear they should make a 12-step for this. I’ve found people I went to school with too and it’s been fun to get back in touch after ten years. I’ve tried “abstaining” from FB for awhile, but I think the longest I lasted was about 12 hours. It’s pretty sad. I think I need a life. BUT, the good news is that at least it’s this and not crack. Right? RIGHT?! 🙂

  3. Linzy says:

    And I agree with you about Myspace. It sucks.

  4. Chris says:

    I remember when MySpace first came out. I thought, I can’t believe they allow that kind of junk on the internet! It’s like a landlord allowing his tenants to have out-of-control parties in his apartment.

  5. Tracie says:

    Davis, glad to inspire you to take another look! Linzy, a 12-hour stretch is quite admirable. I don’t think I’ve ever gone that long! And Chris, that’s so funny! I like the analogy!

  6. Rob says:

    The thing I like about Facebook is finding out what old friends have been up to… it’s interesting to me to get notifications out of the blue from some old friend from high school. But all the same, there’s not much I get out facebook otherwise. I like blogging, and apps like WordPress are what I’d prefer to use instead.

  7. Tracie says:

    That’s what I love about Facebook too–being all up in my friends’ bid’ness, even old friends! I don’t usually get involved in all the other apps like poking and super hugs and stuff though. And I definitely use WordPress for blogging! (BTW, I found out you can set Facebook up to automatically pull in your blog posts, so that’s cool too.)

Leave a Reply

