Movie Review: Seven Pounds

1091243Seven Pounds is Will Smith’s latest, and it’s the story of a haunted man trying to make amends for a harm he’s done to seven people.

I’m not going to spoil this for anyone, so I’ll just give you the basic premise without going deep.

Will Smith is Ben Thomas, an IRS agent. His job is to audit people who are delinquent on their taxes, but he has both the power and the desire to extend mercy to those he finds deserving. Along the way he meets Emily Posa (Rosario Dawson), a woman with a congenital heart defect that’s stealing her life. While Ben carries out his duties, using his position, influence and great compassion to serve others, he spends more and more time with Emily. Clearly Ben has a past, a painful secret that affects his present and future. What’s the secret? What does it mean for Ben and Emily, and others? I guess we’ll have to watch and see!

Will Smith is a wonderful actor, and his haunted portrayal was touching. However, the movie was quite predictable, and most of it was too steady and uneventful. I spent most of it feeling very little strong emotion, and that’s not what I’m looking for in a drama. Plus the end seemed contrived and emotionally manipulative. (I guess movies are intrinsically emotionally manipulative, though …)

I will say, however, that the relationship between Ben and Emily was beautiful, and very romantic. They got to know each other carefully and gently, and it was totally believable to me that they fell in love at first sight. Though I found the rest of the movie forgettable, the love story is still stuck in my mind.

I give this movie a 2.5/5 stars.

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

