Movie Review: Bolt

bolt-firstlook-big

“Bolt” is a new Disney movie (apparently available in 3D although I didn’t see that version) starring John Travolta and Miley Cyrus.

The action starts quickly with a high-speed chase as the heroic, scientifically-enhanced Bolt (Travolta) protects his beloved person, Penny (Cyrus) from the Green Eyed Man. However, we soon learn that Bolt has been living a lie a-la The Truman Story: Though he believes his strength and powers are real and that Penny is truly in danger, he’s really an unwitting actor in a television show. When Bolt accidentally winds up across the country on the East Coast, he enlists the grudging help of Mittens, a streetwise alley cat from New York City (Susie Essman), and later his most devoted fan (and former trailer park couch potato) Rhino the Hampster (Mark Walton) to help him get back to Penny and Hollywood.

I absolutely loved this movie, from start to finish! The animation was beautiful, and I continue to be amazed at how they (animators) are making it better and more realistic with each new release. The story wasn’t exactly original (see Homeward Bound for example), but there were unique elements, and the characters’ loyalty and devotion to one another was endearing. To top it off, the movie was hilarious! I loved all the interaction between Bolt, Mittens and Rhino. But I must say I especially enjoyed the pigeons (particularly the Hollywood pigeons). The way they moved and talked … you’ve got to see it!

Overall this was a great movie. There was none of the hidden sexual innuendo typically found in “kid” movies lately; no bratty kids, no cussing. It was sweet, funny and clean. I think I might have liked it more than my kids.

I give it 5/5 stars. I know, right? Five stars?! Be amazed, people. Be amazed.

Tagged , , , , ,

One thought on “Movie Review: Bolt

  1. Rick Boyer says:

    I found your site on technorati and read a few of your other posts. Keep up the good work. I just added your RSS feed to my Google News Reader. Looking forward to reading more from you down the road!

Leave a Reply

