No Fear

universeA couple weeks ago our church watched Louie Giglio’s “How Great is Our God” (here’s Part 1 and Part 2 of four parts available on YouTube). While I was watching it, it didn’t really hit me. But it did a couple of days later when I was at my life group.

Someone commented that God knows every potential decision we can make, and the outcomes of all those decisions–as if we’re self-aware pieces on a chessboard, and in the blink of an eye He has looked ahead to the ramifications of every move we could possibly make.

I used to feel that way too. But now I think this perspective is way too small.

Now I understand that the God who created this universe is very much bigger than our itty bitty decisions. Much bigger. So … if he’s that big, that great … then our decisions are so minor in the scheme of things. All of them, even the ones that feel huge and terrifying to us. And absolutely whatever we decide, whatever the ramifications, whether it’s a “good” decision or a “bad” decision … to say God is fully able to work it out is, like, the understatement of the century.

We’re like ants, like microscopic creatures invisible to the naked eye, compared to the universe God created. Yet He chooses to see and–if we let Him–be involved in the intricate, comparably tiny details of our lives. He has chosen to passionately care about these little humans (who think they’re huge), making tiny decisions in our tiny spheres of influence, on our tiny planet. It must be something like being man-sized and watching an ant struggle to carry a crumb. Then choosing to make yourself an ant for the sake of the other ants. Would you choose to become an ant? I wouldn’t. God must really love ants.

I don’t have words to describe the feeling of utter protection, of being covered and cherished more than I understand. And if this is all true, what do I need to fear? Should I agonize over decisions? For what? No matter what I do, even if I royally screw up, I cannot possibly stump Him.

It’s freeing. And I’ve written this as a reference point for myself, so I won’t forget how I’ve been set free.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “No Fear

  1. creation is in waiting says:

    It is incredible how God works, and loves, and feels, and IS. infathomable, we have no right to fellowship with Him, very little reason for Him to put up with us, and yet…He tore the veil…made it so that we could enjoy a love relationship with one another. How blissful- and when viewed through the eyes of grace, love, and realizing how small we are and how GREAT He is, even His corrections are willingly received.
    Would you choose to become an ant? o gosh. haha. that on of the big questions of the Christian life isnt it?

    “I don’t have words to describe the feeling of utter protection, of being covered and cherished more than I understand. And if this is all true, what do I need to fear? Should I agonize over decisions? For what? No matter what I do, even if I royally screw up, I cannot possibly stump Him.”

    …and His ways are bigger, His plan is greater, and His love reaches far enough to “work all things together for the good of those who love Him”.

    God Bless.

  2. Rob says:

    It can be very humbling, realizing how powerful and awesome and powerful God is and how tiny we human beings are in comparison. It’s definitely a great source of hope and encouragement knowing that we can talk with the Creator of the universe whenever we please, with both or praises and needs.

  3. Tracie says:

    Yeah. I need to keep that realization at the front of my brain much, much more often.

  4. ricopenguin says:

    It’s odd how we all work. You look at the things you’ve said and see beauty, I see them and am disgusted.

    I would have (and do not have) any respect for any being that would in any way put me in line with an ant.

    Likewise ants show no respect to me.

    I’m also equally disturbed that no matter how I prefer this existence to an afterlife it is out of my realm of choosing to stay here. Likewise if heaven is merely what we desire it to be what is the point of me dying if I’m just going to return to here?

    If god truly does know of all things past, present, and future what purpose is there to an existence in the first place. What sort of novelty comes from these things.

    There are a million other things that annoy me, but to each their own. I just happened to notice the beautiful picture of the universe (a place that is far grander than early faithful ever gave credit) and happened to stumble into what was under it.

    I see no benefit to allowing some grander being snoop around my life, likewise I find it extremely unfair by most accounts that I must unless I wish to be punished for a space of time that is so great it has no limits. As you said all things we do are wildly small in the scheme of things, yet the repercussions are supposedly unfathomably large.

    ANYWHO…I’m not here to burst your bubble. Just figured I’d poke in and tell you that I found it funny the vastly different ways we each look at it. You look at the situation like that of a blessing and I look at it as insulting. 😛

  5. treyka says:

    Hi Ricopenguin, thanks for commenting. Not going to try and change your mind, but just wanted to clarify that it was me who compared us with ants, not God! Feel free to disrespect me for it! 😛

    Come back and visit anytime.

Leave a Reply

