Unsatisfied

I’ve noticed lately that I’m not the only one who’s unsatisfied.

I was at Theo and Aysha’s life development group a couple weeks ago, and we were talking about evangelism. One guy said he wasn’t sure he wanted to do the “evangelism thing” where we do it because we have to, because it’s the “Christian thing to to,” or we use some “formula.” Instead he wanted it to be something he does because he’s excited to do it, compelled by the Holy Spirit to do it.

The conversation sort of morphed and evolved, and ebbed and flowed in the direction of, should we be satisfied with ordinary things? Can’t we expect God to do big, amazing things? Can’t we expect him to show us stuff? And the evening ended with this powerful prayer, with all of us crying out to God, tears and snot running down our faces, asking him to blow our minds and help us to live outside of ordinary.

I was glad this guy brought up the subject. I’ve been so sick of stumbling along on this ordinary, boring, sad path. Here’s my thing: The Bible describes all kinds of amazing stuff. Salvations. Healings. Reanimations. Impossibilities. He said we could have and see these same things. So, where is it? I want it! Is it too much to ask God to blow our minds?

Blow my mind, God! I can’t be, I won’t continue to be, satisfied with anything ordinary.

Tagged , , ,

4 thoughts on “Unsatisfied

  1. jacqueline says:

    I immediately identified with your frustration in this post. I remembering feeling that way asGod was started to direct us toward the mission field, and later clarfied it as Thailand. I wrote a post back in August 9, 2007 called Dissatisfied., I searched for it right after reading this post. I, I mean the Holy Spirit said through me… “Dissatisifaction is the birthplace of the next great thing God wants to do in your life. (or something like that!) Hunt it down and read it and let me know what you think.

  2. Tracie says:

    Oh wow, Jacqueline … that’s exciting and a little scary! I’m going to look for your post and read it!

  3. jacqueline says:

    What in the world could God have in store for you and your family? Any hint of direction? Interests? I am sure He didn’t restore you so you could be “just average”. Really excited to hear about all the wild adventures that will come through your radical obedience!!!!!Blessings!

  4. treyka says:

    That’s kinda scary. I’m such a chicken! But with you to inspire me, I know I can do it … ?! Thanks Jacqueline!

Leave a Reply

