Movie Review: Get Smart

This movie was just okay, in my opinion.

Don’t misunderstand: I love Steve Carell (Maxwell Smart). Okay, lemme go ahead and say it: I think Steve Carell is good looking, in a nerdily handsome way. (Most people are shocked when I say that, but really, look at him! He’s cute!) I love his subtle humor, his self-deprecating way, and his piercing eyes. Funny, nerdy men are very attractive to me.

I enjoyed lots of belly laughs in this movie too. “Crunchy bone pudding” was especially hilarious, and I also enjoyed the misfired “cone of silence” scene. Classic Carell! (Still, nearly all the funny scenes were in the previews. Sigh.)

I also thought the relationship between Smart and Agent 99 (Anne Hathaway) was kinda sweet and even believable. They were surprisingly cute together.

However, all told, the story plodded along. The laugh opportunities were too few and far between. And the expected one-liners (“Missed it by that much,” and “Would you believe …”) seemed like last-minute add-ins instead of part of the story.

Even my beloved Dwayne Johnson (my goodness he’s beautiful) seemed rather superfluous to the story. Everything that unfolded with him was no surprise.

Altogether I’d give this movie 2.75 out of 5 stars.

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

