New With Tags

Jess of So Supercilious tagged me! I must share seven random facts about myself, so here goes.

  1. I’ve recently become addicted to eBay. I named this post New With Tags because it’s a term you’d find on eBay and I like the wordplay. Get it? Tags on new clothes, tagged in the blogosphere … and this is a new post … nevermind.
  2. My house is a mess. Yes, Tracie the Organized and Structured Perfectionist lives in a messy house. I recently read, however, that many perfectionists have the same dirty secret, and the reason is because if it (whatever “it” is) can’t be perfect, they (we) avoid it altogether. This is my plight! I hate the mess; I gripe about it outwardly and obsess about it inwardly. But if it’s going to be clean, it’s going to take me several days to accomplish it, and I just don’t have time. Sure, I could do it little by little, but then there would be pockets of nice and pockets of dirty, and that’s unacceptable. You see my quandary, don’t you?
  3. I’m a writing snob. I sniff at misspellings and inappropriately-used punctuation. I shake my head disdainfully at poorly-structured sentences, or disorganized paragraphs. Know that whenever I read anything (and I mean anything), I’m scanning it with my mental red pen, ready to slash and underscore and cut and paste … basically making your written piece look like a crime scene. (I know that was a run-on sentence, but I like it just as it is. Which brings up a related quirk: I’m slightly less hard on my own grammar hiccups. After all, I know my heart is in the right place.)
  4. I love cartoons and superheroes. When I was little, my dad and I would watch Tom and Jerry or Bugs Bunny, and laugh our hineys off. I’ll still watch the old episodes today (the new ones are corny). Plus, when new Disney movies come out, I’m just as eager to see them as my kids. As for superheroes, I have always loved them. Especially Spider-Man: he’s very sharp-witted and sarcastic–just like me! Superheroes are cool, strong, brightly-clad and fun. I love to see them kick butt. And since I appreciate nice shoulders and arms, a well-drawn superhero can turn my frown upside down.
  5. I’m scatterbrained. It’s actually quite a hindrance to my daily life. I’ll think of something I want to do, or see, or get–then I will promptly forget about it. Or I’ll get up to get/see/do it, and on the way there I’ll see something else I need to get/see/do. So when I’m finished with whatever that was, I can no longer remember why I got up in the first place. I think (hope) it’s because I have so much on my mind.
  6. I don’t like mouth noises. These include chewing, gulping, ragged sighing, and any other of the varied moist, annoying sounds creatures make when they eat. (I say creatures because I include both humans and animals. I hate to be around dogs when they drink from a bowl of water. Especially since it’s always someone else’s dog and I can’t tell the thing to go away. I must suffer in silence while the animal noisily slurps and gulps as if it’d just returned from wandering the desert. It’s amazing how often this happens when I’m nearby and unable to escape.) I also dislike the varied mouth sounds employed by children and grown men alike–such as cheek pops, plops, blurps, grunts and whoops. SHUTTIE!
  7. I’ve been on TV about 10 times. Not just flashes where you wouldn’t know it was me unless you paused it.

Okay, now it’s your turn Linzy! Since you’re new to the blogosphere, this might be just the introduction you need.

Tagged , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “New With Tags

  1. Linzy says:

    Yes, ma’am! 🙂

  2. sosupercilious says:

    Yay! You did it! Now to address what you wrote, because we seem to have a lot in common.

    I too, am a writing snob, though I am prone to make mistakes myself. I LOVE cartoons, that’s basically all I watch on TV, and I too would watch the superhero cartoons with my dad! I hate those noises when I’m in a particular state, like sleepy or hungry, I’ll literally go postal on people.

    And the perfectionist this is so TRUE. It’s why I end up doing my major essays the night before they’re due!

  3. Tracie says:

    I know, right?! That’s what first drew me to your blog. BTW, you wrote a blog about what you like to watch, and I tried to comment about how much we had in common, but it kept giving me an error message …

Leave a Reply

