The “Mustard Seed” Thing

I’ve been chewing on this one for a few days. Thought I’d share.

A couple weeks ago my family was fasting, primarily to help our unbelief. On the last day of the fast I was praying and asked God to increase my faith. Right away the scripture came to mind when the apostles asked Jesus the same thing–so I looked it up.

And the apostles said to the Lord, “Increase our faith.” So the Lord said, “If you have faith as a mustard seed, you can say to this mulberry tree, ‘Be pulled up by the roots and be planted in the sea,’ and it would obey you. (Luke 17:5-6)

In answer to the apostles’ request for more faith, Jesus said, “If you had a mustard seed of faith …” In other words, their problem wasn’t small faith, but no faith at all.

I felt the Lord compelling me to open my hand, so I did. As I looked at my palm He said something like, “Your hand is empty now. But if you put a thing in your hand, then you would then possess that thing. And if you drop it, you no longer possess it. Either it’s in your hand or it isn’t.”

This being the case, even a very small amount of faith–if possessed–is able to achieve great things. Faith, whether it’s as tiny as a mustard seed or as great as a mountain, is useless if you don’t have it. It’s like trying to drive a compact car without the keys, and muttering, “If I just had a bigger car, I’d be outta here!”

I do think there’s a place for bigger faith. But at least for me, I needed to have some measure of faith first before I could ask God to increase it.

Tagged , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “The “Mustard Seed” Thing

  1. Pete Wilson says:

    Well said. I’m glad I found your blog. Look forward to reading more.

  2. treyka says:

    Yeah, easy to say. Now I gotta go live it! 🙂 Checked out your blog, I’ll definitely be back!

Leave a Reply

