Turbulence

It’s been a little while since I’ve blogged. Last week I was on vacation in a place without wifi (gasp), and I won’t be able to use my computer for the next week. So I’d better write something before my window of opportunity closes!

Here’s what’s going on in my head:

  • Why do I want to lose weight? I look pretty good; why do I want to look better? For my husband? He seems quite pleased with things as they are. And God doesn’t seem concerned with my weight either. No one else matters, do they? So why am I so vain?
  • Am I dressing too young for my age? No, seriously. Lately many friends have commented that could pass for a teenager. That’s kinda fun–but I don’t think I need to perpetuate that with my wardrobe. It’s nice to look younger than my age, but I don’t have to dress like a teenager. I think it’s better to pass for 20-something than 10-something.
  • Who cares? Who cares about my wardrobe? Who cares about how I look? Who cares about how I sing, or write, or design? Who cares? What I mean to say is …
  • … Am I living the way God meant me to? Are we–Christians–doing what Jesus meant for us to do? Is this what it’s supposed to look like? When am I gonna get over my stinkin’ self?! When I am gonna wake up from my own stupid, selfish, little dreams and get on board with the big stuff God wants to do, the stuff I can’t do all by myself?
  • What am I really meant to do besides what I’m doing? I feel like I’m doing what I’m meant to do, but I’m still meant to do more. Not just more, but bigger than the small experiences I’ve had and the small thoughts I’ve thought. They’ve seemed so big, but they’re really not. It’s like I’m in first grade, but there’s still high school! There’s still college! I read this interesting blog article today, and it made me question even more.
  • What are we doing? Why does the church look so much like everything else? Isn’t there more to us than this? We’re more than music videos and 5-minute songs on Christian radio, and graphic tees and perfectly coiffed bed-head.
  • Why is everyone writing self-help books? Why is everyone reading self-help books? How have we made a market of telling people how to live, how to get revelation from the Bible?! Go live! Go talk to God for yourself!

Okay, I think I’m done ranting. Until next week!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “Turbulence

  1. haha… I’m glad, too, that there’s another someone out there who’s watching cartoons and wanted their libraries! I think there are not too many of us around : )

    Thanks for stopping by my site. Yours looks great… love the design!

  2. Karen Mundy says:

    Wow! Those are all questions I’ve been asking myself lately. What does GOD want for my life? Not what do I want (because I don’t know that either), but what plans does GOD have for me? What does he want me doing TODAY for HIM?

  3. pseudonymblog says:

    Hey…I’ve decided I’ll look 13 for the rest of my life, no matter what I wear…don’t let it get to ya!! Let’s see who’s laughing when all of our friends are 80 and wishing they looked younger…

    Anyway…was referred by So Supercilious blog…so, just wanted to check it out…any ways, really enjoyed it.

  4. Tracie says:

    Yeah, I guess when I’m 80 it will be ideal to look 15 years younger … Thanks for the encouragement!

Leave a Reply

