On My Mind.

I’ve had a lot of stuff on my mind lately. I’ve wanted to blog about it, but I wouldn’t know where to start or how to finish. So I’ll just give y’all the highlights.

  1. In my “On Music” page, I wrote about how I struggle with vanity. I ended my essay with a scripture from Romans. But I recently learned something that showed me I’d totally missed it. Not everything, just the last part about how I’ll always struggle. I was wrong. I’m glad God is gracious! I’ll be rewriting that soon.
  2. I finally admitted to myself that I don’t like someone. It was a relief to admit it to myself, because I’ve finally put my finger on that niggling in the back of my brain.
  3. Now that I know I don’t like this person, I’m not sure what to do with it. What are my responsibilities here? Can I separate my dislike from the way I treat this person? I must. I refuse to be anything but entirely gracious and kind–without being fake. I can do it: I’ve been mostly doing it up to now, I just didn’t realize it because I didn’t know I didn’t like this person until this week. 
  4. I missed Unite the other day because I was getting my hair braided. (Dang it!) Are my priorities wrong? No … it just took longer than I thought, and you can’t walk out of a salon with one tuft of unbraided hair. Well, you can, but then you have to reschedule for the rest, and what if that costs extra? (Micro-braids are expensive.) And what if they have no openings for two weeks? Then either I look like a unicorn for two weeks, or I have the black woman’s equivalent of a comb-over. Both options are scary.
  5. Should I watch fewer movies? I flipping love movies. I probably watch about 5-7 movies a week (old and new). Is that a lot? (Sigh. I already know the answer.) Can you love Jesus and watch 7+ movies a week?
  6. More to the point, where’s the “line” with movies? I used to draw the line at rated R, but there are really good movies that are rated R. There are really bad movies that are rated PG-13. I have left movies (or shut them off) because I (think I) am mature enough to gauge which movies are right for me to watch and which aren’t. I know when the line has been crossed.
  7. Or do I? What if the line is moving backwards a little more every day, and I’m not noticing it? Newman!
  8. I love my husband. Many have been reading my Exhuming My Talent series, and they probably think I hate him. I used to (hey, just being honest). But God does miracles. I believe that. I’ve seen it. He resurrected my marriage from hell. And today, I love my husband so much it’s kinda weird. (I’ll conclude that series soon. It takes a lot out of me to write each article.)

Yeah. That’s enough for now.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “On My Mind.

  1. John says:

    I appreciate your honesty about numbers 2 and 3, everyone else out there is able to sigh a relief of feeling normal. But, oh no, what if I comment and it’s me that you don’t like?

    About your husband? John and I had to laugh. Last night we were listening to a sermon from the engage series and the first 30 seconds or so was Derwin doing a sound check and singing some song I can’t recall at the moment. Makes me giggle to think that everyone who purchased that CD was entertained by Derwin as a prelude to the sermon. 🙂

  2. jacqueline says:

    oops, sorry. that comment was me…jacq.

  3. Tracie says:

    Hahaha! It’s not you! See, now I wonder if I should’ve just left that out. Okay, let me clarify for anyone who cares: It’s no one I love!

  4. Longing for Holiday says:

    Treyka: where have you been?? You gotta stop by and at least read my treatise on CRAP.
    What did you learn that showed you that you missed it?
    Thanks for the tips on microbraiding should I ever try it.
    How many Law and Orders can a person watch in a week? I don’t rent em, I just turn the TV on at 10.
    If you see that Old Man movie that won best movie oscar, let me know. I hear it is both awesome and violent. I am torn, too, about what to watch.

    Take it easy!

  5. Tracie says:

    Hey Lorraine! Sorry, I’ve been crazy and haven’t had a chance to read or write much! I promise I’ll swing by very soon! Love ya!

  6. pennymaxwell says:

    Tracie I just want to know why you don’t like me? What did I ever do to you? 🙂 Also, 7 plus movies???? I am thinkg Chip needs to help on that one! Ha!

Leave a Reply

