Songs | Poems

I got tagged by Chris to post my favorite songs that could also be poems. Here are some of my favorites:

Shadowfeet by Brooke Fraser
Walking, stumbling
On these shadowfeet
Toward home
A land that I’ve never seen
I am changing
Less and less asleep
Made of different stuff than when I began
And I have sensed it all along:
Fast approaching is the day

(I would’ve liked to use all Brooke Fraser songs, but I figured you guys might enjoy some variety.)

I Gotta Find Peace of Mind by Lauryn Hill

They say it’s impossible
But I know it’s possible
To finally be in love
And know real the meaning of
A lasting relationship
Not based on ownership
I trust every part of You
‘Cause all that You say You do

  

Kiss the River by Victory Fellowship

I still remember
Falling to the floor and now I
I often wonder
How I ever dared to
Let You go
Even closer
Closer than the air around me
Underneath my skin

(Sorry, no video.)

One More Try by George Michael

Teacher
There are things
That I don’t want to learn
And the last one I had
Made me cry

None But Jesus by Hillsong

In the quiet
In the stillness I know
That You are God
In the secret
Of Your presence I know
There I am restored

When You call I won’t refuse
Each new day I’ll choose

I Got Soul by Eric B and Rakim

It’s been a long time
I shouldn’ta left you
Without a strong rhyme to step to
Think of how many ‘Ric’s shows you slept through
Time’s up
Sorry I kept you

(This is one of those back-in-the-day rhymes I still remember the lyrics to!)

There are so many more I’d love to do, but this is making my brain hurt much more than I thought it would.

Who’s on deck? So Supercilious and Saviore, along with Snowjunkie and Odd Ln. And I think Nikki might like this one too!

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Songs | Poems

  1. snowjunkie says:

    Hello! I’m only seeing this tag now. It never showed up on my wordpress dashboard for some reason!

Leave a Reply

