DVD Review: Gone Baby Gone

full_movieimage_12448.jpg

When this movie showed up in my mailbox, I’d never even seen a preview. I know, that sounds ridiculous, doesn’t it. I’m usually up on these things. How I’d never heard of a movie with the likes of Morgan Freeman and Ed Harris I’ll never be able to live down. But almost from the moment the movie began, I was locked in.

Casey Affleck plays Patrick Kenzie, a small time private detective. He and his girlfriend Angie (Michelle Monaghan) are approached for help when a little girl disappears from her bed in a small Boston neighborhood. Though this case is much more important than anything they’ve ever handled so far, the family of the missing girl insists on their help. After all, Pat and Angie grew up in the same neighborhood; they have an inside connection with the community that the police can’t touch.But the circumstances around the child’s disappearance aren’t as straight-forward as they first appear. Strange facts and unusual connections keep popping up from unexpected places. Finally, just when Pat and Angie may be able to return the girl to her mother, the unthinkable happens. Was all their hard work for nothing?

I can usually see things coming, but this movie kept me guessing almost until the end. There were moral questions raised, hard questions. But those questions weren’t necessarily answered; Remy Bressant (Ed Harris) and Jack Doyle (Morgan Freeman) made their choices, and so did Pat. But the movie tells the story without making up your mind for you. Their choices weren’t presented as right, or wrong; they were just their choices. I walked away from this movie thinking, and feeling. I like that.

The acting was top-notch, and I particularly liked Affleck’s character. He was personable and real, quiet but tough. He cared about the girl and her family. I loved his backbone, his determination to do the right thing. I also liked that he had a couple difficult choices to make. His dilemmas make for good post-movie discussion: What would I have done? What would you have done?

Everything about this movie was well done. This one blew me away. I hear Affleck’s being considered for an academy award for this movie. I hope he gets it.

I give this movie 5/5 stars.

Tagged , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “DVD Review: Gone Baby Gone

  1. maxdaddy says:

    Thanks! I was wondering how this one was. Now I may get it.

  2. thissalesmanslife says:

    I really enjoyed this flick too. This is one of those films that you think about for days.
    Out of curiosity: What would you have done?

    I think I would have shot the guy for sure -my own emotions were getting the best of me as I watched.

    Regarding the little girl…….I think I would have called the cops too.

    I am a real fan of Casey Affleck.
    -DH

  3. Nikki says:

    Hollis and I watched this Saturday afternoon since you gave it 5 stars. You’re right it definitely was a movie that made me think. It’s the first movie I have ever seen without a typical happy ending that didn’t disappoint me. I have been thinking and thinking and I just can’t think of a way the movie “should have” ended–other than with deliverance to and transformation in Christ. But then that would have put the movie in a different genre, and would have changed the dialogue significantly. They dropped so many F-bombs it became ridiculous for a little while! In the end I gave it 4/5 stars. (I dropped one star just because of all the foul language.)

Leave a Reply

