Movie Review: The Bee Movie

bee_movie.png

I took the kids to see this movie recently. It was funnier than I expected!
 
Jerry Seinfeld is Barry B. Benson (the bee), a recent college graduate. He’s not sure about his career path, but he would like to get a glimpse of the world outside the hive. He has quite the adventure in the big world: He meets a human woman who saves his life; and he discovers humans are “stealing” honey and making a profit off the backs of bees. Defying the rule that declares bees must not speak to humans, he falls in love with Vanessa the florist, and sues humans for their shady honey hoarding.
 
As I said, I thought the movie was pretty funny. At one point I was laughing so hard my stomach hurt. The problem was, most of the jokes were over my kids’ heads. There was a fair amount of slapstic antics to satisfy little ones, but I almost felt like that Jerry Seinfeld style of humor (which I love) made the movie more for adults than kids. Actually, I noticed that during the funny dialog and jokes, I was one of only two people laughing at all … and I know there were more than two adults in the theater …
 
I also felt at times that things got a little far-fetched. (I know, it’s a cartoon about bees, but still.)
 
Anyhow, overall I would give it a 3.5/5 stars. 
Tagged , , , ,

One thought on “Movie Review: The Bee Movie

  1. Movies says:

    […] Matt-M-McElroy wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptI took the kids to see this movie recently. It was funnier than I expected! Jerry Seinfeld is Barry B. Benson (the bee), a recent college graduate. He’s not sure about his career path, but he would like to get a glimpse of the world … […]

Leave a Reply

