Book Review: The Wedding

0446693332_01_lzzzzzzz.jpg

I must say, I’ve never been a big fan of Nicholas Sparks. I’ve read some of his other books, and they were pleasant. But … well, I’m just skeptical when a man writes romantic stories for women. I feel like I’m being manipulated or something … but that’s just my melancholy showing!

On a recent women’s retreat, I was hanging out with my good friend Deidre. After a long, hard day of shopping, we went to her room to relax. She wanted to read, and so did I–but I hadn’t brought a book with me. Dei recommended I borrow Melody’s book on the table, just so I’d have something to read while we relaxed.

I read the first two chapters, and I was hooked.

The story is about a man named Wilson. He married Jane, the love of his life, in his youth, and he still finds her wonderful and beautiful. But quiet and introspective as he is, he’d never been very good at showing her just how much he loved her. Over the years of their marriage, Wilson devoted more time and attention to his work than his wife and children, and now that the children are grown, he and his wife are like strangers.

When Wilson completely forgets about their wedding anniversary, Jane is heartbroken–it seems this was the straw that broke the camel’s back. Wilson knows he must do something to make up for it, so he immediately begins to plan a special event for their next anniversary–until his oldest daughter decides to get married on the same day.

This book was just quaint and lovely, and Wilson was so sweet and believable. He worked so hard to earn back his wife’s love and to be the romantic he felt she’d always deserved. He capped it all off with a special surprise for Jane that melted my heart! I didn’t expect it to happen, but I felt all mushy inside when I read the last page. I had to go snuggle up on my hubby!

I give this book a 5/5 stars.

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

