Book Review: Dear John

n180162.jpg

Well, since Deidre hooked me in with The Wedding, I felt the least I could do is read another of her Nicholas Sparks recommendations. But this book was so different from any of his other book I’ve read. It was sort of dark, and sad.

The main character is John. He grew up without a mother and with a father obsessed with coin collecting. Outgoing and popular, he had a hard time relating to his quiet, routine-driven dad.

After dropping out of high school and feeling like his life was wasting away, John decided to join the military. While he was home on his two-week leave, he met and quickly fell in love with Savannah. But because she was only visiting his hometown, and he was on leave, they would soon have to part ways. They vowed to keep in touch while he was stationed abroad. Savannah was also instrumental in helping John to relate to his dad in a new way.

When the two were able to see each other again, they found life to be far different from the idyllic existence they enjoyed before. Nonetheless, they still planned to marry once John’s tour of duty ended in just a few months.

Then 9/11 happened, and everything changed for both of them.

I really liked John. He seemed like a real person and a good guy. At a point later in the story, it would’ve been easy for him to do the wrong thing–and very few would’ve blamed him. But what he did was so honorable and right … even though I wished things could’ve been different, I felt a great deal of respect for him.

I give this book 5/5 stars.

Tagged , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Book Review: Dear John

  1. EH says:

    This was the only spask book to make me cry. I dont know why, but I guess this book is closer to my age. Its sad what happens to them but I guess its right cause thats what true is about according to John.

Leave a Reply

