My All-time Favorite Movies

I have been working on this list for two ridiculous weeks. Even now I hesitate to post it, because I fear it’s incomplete! I also tried to narrow it down to, like, 20. I couldn’t. Let’s just leave it at that.

Here they are divided by category. Within each category they’re listed in order from favorite to least. Finally, please overlook the generalization of categories, or movies that could be in more than one list. It wasn’t easy to divide them up!

All-time Favorite

  • Lord of the Rings Trilogy 

Action

  • Spider-Man 2
  • The Matrix
  • Equilibrium
  • The Bourne Identity
  • A History of Violence
  • Payback
  • True Lies
  • Back to the Future
  • The Long Kiss Goodnight

Drama

  • Pride and Prejudice (with Jennifer Ehle and Colin Firth)
  • Ransom
  • Sense and Sensibility (with Emma Thompson)
  • The Color Purple
  • Dances With Wolves
  • Philadelphia

Comedy

  • Shrek 
  • School of Rock
  • Blast from the Past
  • Galaxy Quest
  • The Whole 9 Yards
  • The Princess Bride

Comedy-Drama

  • Forrest Gump
  • Far and Away
  • Ghost
  • A League of Their Own

Sci-Fi

  • Signs
  • Terminator 2

 Family

  • The Prince of Egypt
  • Toy Story
  • Finding Nemo
  • Hidalgo
  • Babe
  • Over the Hedge
  • Beauty and the Beast

Romantic Comedy

  • Something’s Gotta Give 
  • You’ve Got Mail
  • Little Manhattan

Thriller

  • What Lies Beneath
Tagged , , ,

5 thoughts on “My All-time Favorite Movies

  1. April says:

    I just got Sense and Sensibility for Christmas and I have never seen it. I am excited to watch it now.

  2. maxdaddy says:

    The Count of Mente Cristo? Frequency? Two good Jim Caviezel movies. Equilibrium! Wowww! Excellent!

  3. treyka says:

    Those were both good and I liked them, but they weren’t good enough for my top … 39 …!

  4. Dana L. says:

    Hi Tracie

    We have never met but I am a fellow sister in Christ. I enjoy your blog which I found last night and also enjoy your pastor’s wife’s blog. Penny actually visited my web site and left a kind comment. There is a sweetness about you both. All the best with every single thing you put your hands to.

    As far as your movie list: I am a big Bourne Identity/Supremacy/Ultimatum fan. Have you seen the last one in the series? My husband actually thinks I have some kind of “crush” on Matt Damon. It is one of those inside husband and wife jokes. Nothing could be further from the truth, of course. Matt Damon can’t touch my man! (wink, smile)

    Keep on being faithful and trusting God. Visit my blog when you have a chance and I will be visiting yours regularly.

    Dana

  5. Tracie says:

    Hi Dana, thanks for your sweet comment! I’ll definitely check out your page!

Leave a Reply

