NBC’s Bionic Woman

Um … I’m disappointed.

I was really excited and I believed the hype. I remember watching the original series with my mom when I was little, so I suspect part of my excitement was nostalgia. Nonetheless, I made sure to tune in for the very first episode.

I like to stick with something before I give it up as a loss. So when I walked away from the first episode feeling vaguely unintrigued, I convinced myself to stick with it for a few weeks. After all, there was great potential: (a) Special effects are better than ever, and improving almost daily! I was excited to see all the cool stuff they could integrate into a show like this one. (b) Alias used to be one of the best shows on television because the characters were cool, the fighting was top-notch, and the stories were interesting. I hoped BW would offer the same kind of excitement. (c) Sarah Corvus (Katee Sackhoff of Sci-Fi Channel’s Battlestar Galactica) was both creepy and compelling.

But as the show progressed, I found the only time it was worth watching was when Sarah was on screen. She’s infinitly more exciting to watch than boring Jaime (Michelle Ryan).

Yes, Jaime is boring! I feel like a weight has been lifted! The story lines (outside of Sarah) seemed slow and boring; the special effects seemed slightly off–for example, when Jaime jumps, she looks like she’s on ropes. And I think what really ruined it for me was the British episode. I understand Ryan really is British–but what’s the likelihood an American with a non-spy background (bionic body parts notwithstanding) could pull off a completely authentic British accent like that? And go undercover? I mean, why do bionic bodyparts qualify her to be a spy?!

All together I’m not impressed. So I stopped watching.

I give it a 2/5 stars.

Tagged , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “NBC’s Bionic Woman

  1. pennymaxwell says:

    Your last three posts are all about TV!!! You turning to the tube since your hubby (and mine) have become Halo Junkies?????

  2. Tracie says:

    Yeah, that’s a sore spot with me right now! “Tracie no likee stinky Halo.”

  3. ricktrotter says:

    Call me a glutton for entertainment but I’m giving BW a little more patience. With that said, you are dead on in your observations. The romantic aspect is stale, action is too limited, the little sister angle is pointless and Isaiah Washington was killed off (with a collective shout form the gay community). NBC had a great opportunity to add another success to it’s line up but squandered it with unimaginative writing and a mediocre lead actor, the milk-like Ryan (cold and getting worse daily).

  4. Tracie says:

    Hey, it’s good to keep hope alive! You can be the BW liaison–if NBC somehow learns of our discontent and makes some much-needed improvements, I might un-defect. (I’m so fickle!)

  5. Victor says:

    I love Katee Sackhoff! She is doing a great work in Bionic Woman and shouldn’t quit the show.. It’s one of my favorite series now.
    Have you seen her interview on TV Guide’s?
    weshow.com/r/us/p/25755/interview_with_bionic_womans_katee_sackhoff
    Let’s make a petition online! 😀

  6. Tracie says:

    Thanks for the link, that was a great interview! She seems like a cool person. Did you catch when she said there are a lot of “cooks in the kitchen” trying to make sure BW is perfect? Hm. Explains a lot.

    I’m also a great big Battlestar Galactica fan, but I have basic, like bottom-rung cable–so I can only watch when it comes out on DVD. Which means I’m having withdrawal as I wait for Season 3. [eye twitches.]

Leave a Reply

